The Apprentice’s Tale

Friday 19 August - Monday 5 December, 2022

On Tuesday 20 August 1918, the Glenlee sailed out from Sydney Harbour, accompanied by the sounds of sea shanties sung by the crew as they hauled up the anchor chains. On board was Ernest (Andy) Andersen, an apprentice who joined the crew aged 16.

Guided by Andy’s own logbook, his life onboard will be shared through an exhibition and family trail. From the top of the rig, down to the bottom of the cargo hold, the Glenlee was Andy’s home for four years and through his own words, the history of Glenlee will be brought alive.

In addition to an exhibition featuring memorabilia from Andy’s life, the journey will be digitally mapped on a daily basis. This will be shared on the Tall Ship Glenlee’s website, so Andy’s international journey can be followed by a truly global audience

Dates & Times

The Tall Ship at Riverside
150 Pointhouse Place, Glasgow, G3 8RS
View map

Sat 20 Aug 00:00

Sun 21 Aug 00:00

Mon 22 Aug 00:00

Tue 23 Aug 00:00

Wed 24 Aug 00:00

Thu 25 Aug 00:00

Fri 26 Aug 00:00

Sat 27 Aug 00:00

Sun 28 Aug 00:00

Mon 29 Aug 00:00

Tue 30 Aug 00:00

Wed 31 Aug 00:00

Thu 1 Sep 00:00

Fri 2 Sep 00:00

Sat 3 Sep 00:00

Sun 4 Sep 00:00

Wed 7 Sep 00:00

Thu 8 Sep 00:00

Fri 9 Sep 00:00

Sat 10 Sep 00:00

Sun 11 Sep 00:00

Wed 14 Sep 00:00

Thu 15 Sep 00:00

Fri 16 Sep 00:00

Sat 17 Sep 00:00

Sun 18 Sep 00:00

Wed 21 Sep 00:00

Thu 22 Sep 00:00

Fri 23 Sep 00:00

Sat 24 Sep 00:00

Sun 25 Sep 00:00

Wed 28 Sep 00:00

Thu 29 Sep 00:00

Fri 30 Sep 00:00

Sat 1 Oct 00:00

Sun 2 Oct 00:00

Wed 5 Oct 00:00

Thu 6 Oct 00:00

Fri 7 Oct 00:00

Sat 8 Oct 00:00

Sun 9 Oct 00:00

Wed 12 Oct 00:00

Thu 13 Oct 00:00

Fri 14 Oct 00:00

Sat 15 Oct 00:00

Sun 16 Oct 00:00

Wed 19 Oct 00:00

Thu 20 Oct 00:00

Fri 21 Oct 00:00

Sat 22 Oct 00:00

Sun 23 Oct 00:00

Wed 26 Oct 00:00

Thu 27 Oct 00:00

Fri 28 Oct 00:00

Sat 29 Oct 00:00

Sun 30 Oct 00:00

Sun 30 Oct 00:00

Wed 2 Nov 00:00

Thu 3 Nov 00:00

Fri 4 Nov 00:00

Sat 5 Nov 00:00

Sun 6 Nov 00:00

Wed 9 Nov 00:00

Thu 10 Nov 00:00

Fri 11 Nov 00:00

Sat 12 Nov 00:00

Sun 13 Nov 00:00

Wed 16 Nov 00:00

Thu 17 Nov 00:00

Fri 18 Nov 00:00

Sat 19 Nov 00:00

Sun 20 Nov 00:00

Wed 23 Nov 00:00

Thu 24 Nov 00:00

Fri 25 Nov 00:00

Sat 26 Nov 00:00

Sun 27 Nov 00:00

Wed 30 Nov 00:00

Thu 1 Dec 00:00

Fri 2 Dec 00:00

Sat 3 Dec 00:00

Sun 4 Dec 00:00

Related Events