Erskine Bridge joins the A-list

Friday 7th December, 2018

It’s one of Renfrewshire’s most iconic landmarks and now the Erskine Bridge has been awarded Category A status by Historic Environment Scotland (HES).

The crossing, which is one of only three bridges in Scotland with a main span exceeding 300 metres,  was recognised as being of special architectural interest by HES.

The Erskine Bridge, which opened in 1972, has the longest cable-stayed span of its type in the world.

The decision follows on from a consultation launched by HES, Renfrewshire Council, West Dunbartonshire Council and Transport Scotland, where members of the public were invited to express their views on the bridge being awarded listed status.

Elizabeth McCrone, Head of Designations at HES, said: “The Erskine Bridge is a state-of-the-art infrastructure landmark in Scotland for its time and is recognised for its structural simplicity, economy of materials and slender appearance.

“Spanning the River Clyde, the Bridge was part of a strategic and highly ambitious expansion of the new motorway network in Scotland, and is directly associated with the period of ambitious transformation of Scotland’s modern infrastructure in the 1960s.

“Its minimalistic single-cable design – which is exceptionally rare for a large-scale road bridge – combined with its largely unchanged appearance makes it one of the country’s most innovative bridges of the 20th century, and we’re delighted to recognise its national importance with this Category A status.”

Find out more about Erskine

I love the fabulous architecture - Paisley Abbey, Coats Memorial and the town hall, all within walking distance.

Barbara Erskine
What's Our Story?

See more stunning landmarks