fbpx

Going Green – The Drive for Energy Efficiency

Friday 2 December - Thursday 1 June, 2023

Going Green – The Drive for Energy Efficiency considers James Watt’s pioneering spirit and his legacy in a modern-day context, where the desire to be increasingly energy efficient to combat climate change is ever-present.

The centrepiece is a Tesla Model S P85+, believed to be the first Tesla acquired by a public museum in Scotland. The pioneering car, gifted to the city by a private collector and enthusiast is a stunning and technologically important car, which represents a new dawn in electric vehicle development. One section of the new display Driving Out Emissions considers how revolutionary changes in transport and the development of more environmentally friendly vehicles can reduce emissions and assist in tackling climate change.

Boasting a raft of innovative features and impressive technology, the Tesla Model S can travel 242 miles on one charge, at a cost of around £9. It can reach 0-60mph in 4 seconds, be controlled from the owner’s smart phone and convert from a 5 to 7-seater family car.

Alongside the Tesla is a rare Honda Insight Mk1 from 2000. Donated by another enthusiast, it is one of only 239 Mk1s sold in the UK and was the first hybrid car to be acquired for the city’s renowned transport and travel collection. Its inclusion in the display opens up a discussion on different power sources, from coal and quartz to wind and water and the ability to consume less of one by using more of another, as illustrated by the hybrid Honda which combines a conventional petrol engine with an electric motor.

Going Green – The Drive for Energy Efficiency shows the concern for our world is universal, while highlighting that we can all make a positive difference to planet Earth. The display considers how we test air quality, monitor oceans and make personal statements about the environmental dangers our world faces.

Going Green – The Drive for Energy Efficiency is sure to enthrall and engage visitors of all ages and will be an important talking piece for the younger generations.

Sponsored by Aggreko.
‘Aggreko are proud to be a part of the Museum’s significant project at a time when reducing carbon emissions is a priority for the clients we serve globally in meeting their specific power needs.” Robert Wells, Managing Director, Events Aggreko.

Dates & Times

Riverside Museum
100 Pointhouse Place, Glasgow, G3 8RS
View map

Fri 2 Dec 10:00

Sat 3 Dec 10:00

Sun 4 Dec 10:00

Mon 5 Dec 10:00

Tue 6 Dec 10:00

Wed 7 Dec 10:00

Thu 8 Dec 10:00

Fri 9 Dec 10:00

Sat 10 Dec 10:00

Sun 11 Dec 10:00

Mon 12 Dec 10:00

Tue 13 Dec 10:00

Wed 14 Dec 10:00

Thu 15 Dec 10:00

Fri 16 Dec 10:00

Sat 17 Dec 10:00

Sun 18 Dec 10:00

Mon 19 Dec 10:00

Tue 20 Dec 10:00

Wed 21 Dec 10:00

Thu 22 Dec 10:00

Fri 23 Dec 10:00

Sat 24 Dec 10:00

Mon 26 Dec 10:00

Tue 27 Dec 10:00

Wed 28 Dec 10:00

Thu 29 Dec 10:00

Fri 30 Dec 10:00

Sat 31 Dec 10:00

Sun 1 Jan 10:00

Mon 2 Jan 10:00

Tue 3 Jan 10:00

Wed 4 Jan 10:00

Thu 5 Jan 10:00

Fri 6 Jan 10:00

Sat 7 Jan 10:00

Sun 8 Jan 10:00

Mon 9 Jan 10:00

Tue 10 Jan 10:00

Wed 11 Jan 10:00

Thu 12 Jan 10:00

Fri 13 Jan 10:00

Sat 14 Jan 10:00

Sun 15 Jan 10:00

Mon 16 Jan 10:00

Tue 17 Jan 10:00

Wed 18 Jan 10:00

Thu 19 Jan 10:00

Fri 20 Jan 10:00

Sat 21 Jan 10:00

Sun 22 Jan 10:00

Mon 23 Jan 10:00

Tue 24 Jan 10:00

Wed 25 Jan 10:00

Thu 26 Jan 10:00

Fri 27 Jan 10:00

Sat 28 Jan 10:00

Sun 29 Jan 10:00

Mon 30 Jan 10:00

Tue 31 Jan 10:00

Wed 1 Feb 10:00

Thu 2 Feb 10:00

Fri 3 Feb 10:00

Sat 4 Feb 10:00

Sun 5 Feb 10:00

Mon 6 Feb 10:00

Tue 7 Feb 10:00

Wed 8 Feb 10:00

Thu 9 Feb 10:00

Fri 10 Feb 10:00

Sat 11 Feb 10:00

Sun 12 Feb 10:00

Mon 13 Feb 10:00

Tue 14 Feb 10:00

Wed 15 Feb 10:00

Thu 16 Feb 10:00

Fri 17 Feb 10:00

Sat 18 Feb 10:00

Sun 19 Feb 10:00

Mon 20 Feb 10:00

Tue 21 Feb 10:00

Wed 22 Feb 10:00

Thu 23 Feb 10:00

Fri 24 Feb 10:00

Sat 25 Feb 10:00

Sun 26 Feb 10:00

Mon 27 Feb 10:00

Tue 28 Feb 10:00

Wed 1 Mar 10:00

Thu 2 Mar 10:00

Fri 3 Mar 10:00

Sat 4 Mar 10:00

Sun 5 Mar 10:00

Mon 6 Mar 10:00

Tue 7 Mar 10:00

Wed 8 Mar 10:00

Thu 9 Mar 10:00

Fri 10 Mar 10:00

Sat 11 Mar 10:00

Sun 12 Mar 10:00

Mon 13 Mar 10:00

Tue 14 Mar 10:00

Wed 15 Mar 10:00

Thu 16 Mar 10:00

Fri 17 Mar 10:00

Sat 18 Mar 10:00

Sun 19 Mar 10:00

Mon 20 Mar 10:00

Tue 21 Mar 10:00

Wed 22 Mar 10:00

Thu 23 Mar 10:00

Fri 24 Mar 10:00

Sat 25 Mar 10:00

Sun 26 Mar 10:00

Mon 27 Mar 10:00

Tue 28 Mar 10:00

Wed 29 Mar 10:00

Thu 30 Mar 10:00

Fri 31 Mar 10:00

Sat 1 Apr 10:00

Sun 2 Apr 10:00

Mon 3 Apr 10:00

Tue 4 Apr 10:00

Wed 5 Apr 10:00

Thu 6 Apr 10:00

Fri 7 Apr 10:00

Sat 8 Apr 10:00

Sun 9 Apr 10:00

Mon 10 Apr 10:00

Tue 11 Apr 10:00

Wed 12 Apr 10:00

Thu 13 Apr 10:00

Fri 14 Apr 10:00

Sat 15 Apr 10:00

Sun 16 Apr 10:00

Mon 17 Apr 10:00

Tue 18 Apr 10:00

Wed 19 Apr 10:00

Thu 20 Apr 10:00

Fri 21 Apr 10:00

Sat 22 Apr 10:00

Sun 23 Apr 10:00

Mon 24 Apr 10:00

Tue 25 Apr 10:00

Wed 26 Apr 10:00

Thu 27 Apr 10:00

Fri 28 Apr 10:00

Sat 29 Apr 10:00

Sun 30 Apr 10:00

Mon 1 May 10:00

Tue 2 May 10:00

Wed 3 May 10:00

Thu 4 May 10:00

Fri 5 May 10:00

Sat 6 May 10:00

Sun 7 May 10:00

Mon 8 May 10:00

Tue 9 May 10:00

Wed 10 May 10:00

Thu 11 May 10:00

Fri 12 May 10:00

Sat 13 May 10:00

Sun 14 May 10:00

Mon 15 May 10:00

Tue 16 May 10:00

Wed 17 May 10:00

Thu 18 May 10:00

Fri 19 May 10:00

Sat 20 May 10:00

Sun 21 May 10:00

Mon 22 May 10:00

Tue 23 May 10:00

Wed 24 May 10:00

Thu 25 May 10:00

Fri 26 May 10:00

Sat 27 May 10:00

Sun 28 May 10:00

Mon 29 May 10:00

Tue 30 May 10:00

Wed 31 May 10:00

Thu 1 Jun 10:00

Related Events